2007 Malt Advocate Whisky Awards

whiskey.jpgThe 2007 Malt Advocate whisky awards were announced by John Hansell, Malt Advocate Publisher & Editor, before a sold out WhiskyFest New York at the Marriott Marquis on Times Square. This annual awards program was established thirteen years ago to recognize excellence in the world of whisky. The awards categories and winners are listed below.

* Canadian Whisky of the Year: Crown Royal Cask No. 16
* American Whiskey of the Year: Old Forester Birthday Bourbon (2007 Release)
* Irish Whiskey of the Year: Redbreast 12 year old
* Scotch Whisky Blend of the Year: Chivas 18 year old
* Scotch Whisky Malt of the Year: The Macallan 1976 Vintage (Cask 11354)
* World Whisky of the Year: Suntory Yamazaki 18 year old
* Best Buy of the Year: Black Bottle Original
* Distillery of the Year: BenRiach
* Pioneer of the Year: Bruichladdich Distillery
* Industry Leader of the Year: Mixologists
* Lifetime Achievement Award: Jim Rutledge, Four Roses Distillery
* Lifetime Achievement Award: David Stewart, William Grant & Sons

In addition, the Top Ten New Whiskies for 2007 were announced by John Hansell. They are listed below, in alphabetical order.

* Buffalo Trace Experimental Collection Chardonnay Aged Bourbon, 14 year old
* Crown Royal Cask No. 16
* Dun Bheagan (distilled at Springbank), Cask No. 1704, 35 year old, 1970 vintage
* The Glenlivet Cellar Collection, 1969 vintage
* Highland Park, Cask #13308, 1973 vintage, 33 year old
* Highland Park, Cask #7957, 1977 vintage, 29 year old
* Old Forester Birthday Bourbon, 1994 vintage
* The Macallan 1976 Vintage, 29 year old, cask #11354
* Parker’s Heritage Collection, First Edition, 1996 vintage
* Wild Turkey American Spirit, 15 year old

A complete write-up of the award winners will appear in the 1st quarter 2008 issue of Malt Advocate, which mails on January 15, 2008.

Malt Advocate